WAT-Human Settlements Trust is moving forward

Patricia Sibley visiting an upgraded home in Tanzania

It has been a week since I arrived in Dar es Salaam and the time sure does fly! I have been working with WAT –Human Settlements Trust staff to ensure that they are familiar with source document coding requirements and data entry requirements, and that they are able to fine tune the financial reports to suit their needs. WAT-HST is moving ahead building houses and I am looking forward to going into the field next week to see the projects for myself! Meanwhile I will share some of my experiences from my downtime in Tanzania.

The internet access has improved since my visit last January and I am able to access it and send some emails. I have posted pictures of   my birthday party at the WAT-HST office,  I turned 65 with great celebrations and cake shared all around.  I wouldn’t have missed this party for the world. It was a fantastic opportunity to share and discover different cultures and traditions. I was even given a Tanzanian nickname, “Bibi,” which means Grandma in Swahili when they found out how old I really am. I was made to feel part of the stall, the next day Jane gave me a WAT-HST yellow polo shirt and on Friday all the staff where these shirts to work, I was truly then a member of the team at WAT HST

Tomorrow is a country holiday called Saba Saba, this means Seven, Seven for July 7th, the country holds a large International Trade Show at which WAT-HST had a booth with Humphrey doing marketing about the projects.    On Sunday I am going to set out one my one day safari to the Dar es Salaam Zoo.

I’m settling into life here in Tanzania. I’m living in a hotel room at the Swiss Garden and I now have the services of two drivers. Josef is doing the morning and Timo is bringing me home. I’ve met a lot of expats, including an expat from Holland working on a CIDA proposal, Chris a   neurosurgeon from Pittsburgh, and a member of the Homeless International Board of Directors from London who was working with the local university on urban agriculture.

Patricia Sibley, Technical Advisor, Rooftops Canada

About Rooftops Canada

Rooftops Canada is the international development program of co-operative and social housing organizations in Canada. Rooftops Canada works with partner organizations to improve housing conditions, build sustainable communities and develop a shared vision of equitable global development. Rooftops Canada's focus is on disadvantaged communities in Africa, Asia, Latin America, the Caribbean and Eastern Europe.
This entry was posted in Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), International Development, Tanzania and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment